Story

Western Blot 2.0 – Sapphire Biomolecular Imager

A quantitative evaluation of western blots, stable signals for years, multiplexing options, and highly sensitive detection – all of this is possible with our Sapphire from Azure Biosystems.

To date, the western blot is the most frequently used technique for detecting proteins. The detection takes place very frequently by means of an enzyme reaction. The chemiluminescence detected in this way is very sensitive and can detect very small amounts of protein, however it does not generate a stable signal. A quantitative statement is also difficult because of the enzymatic reaction.


Fluorescence western blots are suitable for multiplexing and yield stable signals

But especially for scientific publications, a signal must be stable in order to still be detectable even years later, if necessary. To make such a lasting detection possible, an antibody is combined with a fluorophore. The detection of proteins by means of fluorescence has other advantages in addition to the long signal duration.

Detecting several proteins on one and the same blot at the same time is not a problem. The detection with fluorescence is perfectly suited for the use of multiplexing. The possibility of detecting a wide variety of proteins at the same time offers a completely new analysis option: the production of quantitative results!


New possibilities for quantitative western blots

Previously, housekeeping genes were always relied on for the quantitative analysis of western blots, a method which is disputed, however.
Today we are able to produce “true” quantitative western blots. By normalisation on the entire protein (western blot 2.0), it is possible to answer completely new questions. The risk of a false-positive result through a regulated housekeeping gene decreases dramatically. 


Chemiluminescence is the most sensitive detection method

Stable signals, multiplexing and quantitative analyses are the greatest advantages of fluorescence detection. But when it comes to sensitivity, the enzymatic detection using chemiluminescence remains undefeated.

This is why we need a detection device which can do both: detection with chemiluminescence and analysis through fluorescence. As a result, it is possible to perform quantitative analyses and highly sensitive research at the same time. Our Sapphire from Azure Biosystems offers precisely this possibility: It makes it possible to generate various detections with one and the same device in high-resolution image quality and at a previously unimagined speed. Scanning with the Azure Sapphire means producing quantitative, reproducible data and, at the same time, using the unique option of several detection methods on the protein level!

More interesting posts

cpt
Saved in your Bookmarks

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential, while others help us to improve this website. We are grateful if you accept them. More info

Story

Western Blot 2.0 – Sapphire Biomolecular Imager

Eine quantitative Auswertung der Western Blots, stabile Signale über Jahre, Multiplexing-Möglichkeiten und eine höchst sensitive Detektion – das alles ist möglich mit unserem Sapphire von Azure Biosystems.

Bis heute ist der Western Blot die am häufigsten genutzte Technik, um Proteine nachzuweisen. Der Nachweis erfolgt sehr häufig mithilfe einer Enzymreaktion. Die hierbei detektierte Chemilumineszenz ist sehr sensitiv und kann kleinste Mengen Protein nachweisen, jedoch erzeugt sie kein stabiles Signal. Auch eine quantitative Aussage ist aufgrund der enzymatischen Reaktion schwierig.


Fluoreszenz-Western-Blots eignen sich für Multiplexing und ergeben stabile Signale 

Doch gerade für wissenschaftliche Publikationen muss ein Signal stabil sein, um bei Bedarf auch Jahre später noch nachweisbar zu sein. Um eine solche dauerhafte Detektion möglich zu machen, wird ein Antikörper mit einem Fluorophor zusammengebracht. Der Nachweis von Proteinen mithilfe von Fluoreszenz hat neben der langen Signaldauer noch weitere Vorteile.

Mehrere Proteine auf ein und demselben Blot zur selben Zeit nachzuweisen, ist kein Problem. Die Detektion mit Fluoreszenz ist für die Anwendung von Multiplexing perfekt geeignet. Die Möglichkeit, verschiedenste Proteine gleichzeitig nachzuweisen, bietet eine völlig neue Möglichkeit der Auswertung: die Produktion quantitativer Resultate!

Neue Möglichkeiten für quantitative Western Blots

Bisher berief man sich zur quantitativen Auswertung der Western Blots immer auf Haushaltsgene, eine Methode, die allerdings umstritten ist.
Heute sind wir in der Lage, „echte“ quantitative Western Blots zu produzieren. Durch das Normalisieren auf das Gesamtprotein (Western Blot 2.0) ist es möglich, völlig neue Fragestellungen zu beantworten. Das Risiko eines falsch-positiven Ergebnisses durch ein reguliertes Haushaltsgen sinkt dramatisch.


Chemilumineszenz ist die sensitivste Nachweismethode

Stabile Signale, Multiplexing und quantitative Analysen sind die grossen Vorteile der Fluoreszenz-Detektion. Doch wenn es um Sensitivität geht, bleibt der enzymatische Nachweis mithilfe der Chemilumineszenz ungeschlagen. 

Darum benötigt man ein Detektionsgerät, das beides kann: Den Nachweis mit Chemilumineszenz und die Analyse durch Fluoreszenz. Dadurch ist man in der Lage, quantitativ zu analysieren und gleichzeitig höchst sensitiv zu forschen. Unser Sapphire von Azure Biosystems bietet genau diese Möglichkeit: Er erlaubt es, verschiedene Nachweise mit ein und demselben Gerät in hochauflösender Bildqualität und einer bis dato ungeahnten Geschwindigkeit zu generieren. Scannen mit dem Azure Sapphire bedeutet, quantitative, reproduzierbare Daten zu produzieren und gleichzeitig die einmalige Möglichkeit mehrerer Nachweisverfahren auf Proteinebene zu nutzen!

Zugehörige Themengebiete (2)

Weitere spannende Beiträge

cpt
Gespeichert auf Ihrer Merkliste

Wir verwenden Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige davon sind essentiell, während andere uns helfen, diese Website zu verbessern. Wir sind Ihnen dankbar, wenn Sie diese akzeptieren. Mehr Info