Story

Gas Identification Unit

Efficient identification solution for pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical gases, easier said than done. Thermal conductivity measurement can help to identify gases reliably and easily.

The  Concept

The Gas Identification Unit (patent pending) is a user-friendly,  innovative system to identify process gases based on their thermal conductivity. This unit has been developed by Air Liquide in response to the recently updated GMP regulations regarding the identification of incoming materials. The European Union (EU) GMP guidelines specify in  Volume 4 / Part 1 / Chapter 5 that “All incoming materials should be checked to ensure that the consignment corresponds to the order” and that “there should be appropriate procedures or measures to assure the identity of the contents of each container.” 

The measurement method is based on the thermal conductivity property of gases (built-in Thermal Conductivity Detector, TCD). At a given temperature, this physical property is specific to each gas molecule, and can therefore be used for identification. The method is validated following current guidelines, including  ICH Q2 (R1) Validation of Analytical Procedures. Once installed, the unit is also qualified following a standard protocol that needs to be independently approved by the respective Quality departments of the customer and Air Liquide.


The Gas Identification Unit is proposed by Air Liquide on a rental basis. Therefore, there is no need to invest in separate, gas-specific analyzers, which not only result in added instrumentation costs, but also require qualified and trained personnel to operate. Maintenance of the unit is also under Air Liquide’s responsibility.

 

Advantages

  • Suitable for process gases used in the pharma industry (e.g. N2, O2, CO2)
  • Only one device for all gases
  • Short measurement time (~ 5 min)
  • User-friendly, no need for a highly qualified operator
  • No safety risk since no intermediate sampling from the trailer of from the cylinders needed
  • No calibration needed
  • Report generated and transferable to printer/laptop
  • GMP compliant operation
  • Easy, simple and cost-saving solution to comply with the GMP identification testing requirement

More interesting posts

cpt
Saved in your Bookmarks

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential, while others help us to improve this website. We are grateful if you accept them. More info

Story

Gas Identification Unit

Effiziente Identifikations-Lösung für Pharma- und Biopharma- Gase. Beim Gasen genauer hinsehen - das ist oft leichter gesagt als getan. Dabei kann die Messung der Wärmleitfähigkeit helfen, Gase sicher und unkompliziert zu identifizieren.

Das Konzept

Die Gas Identification Unit (zum Patent angemeldet) ist ein benutzerfreundliches, innovatives System zur Identifizikation von Prozessgasen auf der Grundlage ihrer Wärmeleitfähigkeit. Die Unit wurde von Air Liquide als Antwort auf die kürzlich aktualisierten GMP-Vorschriften zur Identifizierung eingehender Materialien entwickelt. Die GMP-Richtlinien der Europäischen Union (EU) legen in Band 4 / Teil 1 / Kapitel 5 fest, dass "alle eingehenden Materialien bei der Warenannahme überprüft werden sollten, um sicherzustellen, dass die Sendung der Bestellung entspricht" und dass es “geeignete Verfahren oder Maßnahmen geben sollte, um die Identität des Inhalts jedes Behälters sicherzustellen". 

Die Messmethode basiert auf der Wärmeleitfähigkeit von Gasen (eingebauter Wärmeleitfähigkeitsdetektor, TCD). Bei einer gegebenen Temperatur ist diese physikalische Eigenschaft für jedes Gasmolekül spezifisch und kann daher zur Identifikation verwendet werden. Die Methode ist gemäß den aktuellen Richtlinien validiert, einschließlich ICH Q2 (R1) Validierung analytischer Verfahren. Nach der Installation wird das Gerät auch nach einem spezifischen Protokoll qualifiziert, das von den jeweiligen Qualitätsabteilungen des Kunden und von Air Liquide unabhängig genehmigt werden muss.


Die Gas Identification Unit wird von Air Liquide auf Mietbasis angeboten. Daher besteht keine Notwendigkeit, in separate, gasspezifische Analysegeräte zu investieren, die nicht nur zusätzliche Instrumentierungskosten verursachen, sondern auch qualifiziertes und geschultes Personal für den Betrieb erfordern. Die Wartung der Unit liegt ebenfalls in der Verantwortung von Air Liquide.

Vorteile

  • Geeignet für Prozessgase, die in der Pharmaindustrie verwendet werden (z.B. N2, O2, CO2)
  • Nur ein Gerät für alle Gase
  • Kurze Messzeit (~ 5 min)
  • Benutzerfreundlich, keine hochqualifizierten Bediener erfordlich
  • Kein Sicherheitsrisiko, da keine Zwischenproben aus dem LKW oder der Flasche entnommen werden müssen
  • Keine Kalibrierung erforderlich
  • Bericht wird erzeugt und ist auf Drucker/Laptop übertragbar
  • GMP-konform Betrieb
  • Leichte, einfache und kostensparende Lösung zur Erfüllung der EMEA Anforderungen

Weitere spannende Beiträge

cpt
Gespeichert auf Ihrer Merkliste

Wir verwenden Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige davon sind essentiell, während andere uns helfen, diese Website zu verbessern. Wir sind Ihnen dankbar, wenn Sie diese akzeptieren. Mehr Info