le 4 et 5 octobre 2017
ILMAC

Wednesday, 4th October

«Operational Excellence - Best practice for Chemical and Life Science Companies»

Operational Excellence is an element of organizational leadership and organizational intelligence that focuses on meeting customer expectation, all while stressing the application of a variety of principles, systems, and tools toward the sustainable improvement of key performance metrics. It is based on data driven metrics that are derived from either algorithm, machine learning or artificial intelligence.1 As simple as it sounds, as cloudy is its implementation in our daily life. When asked exactly what it is, there is always hesitation. Answers such as "It's about process quality (making perfect parts every time)," or "Applying lean tools everywhere to eliminate waste" are common. It is not an easy concept to quantify, and very difficult to explain in simple practical terms to an operator on the production floor, so they know what to do to create and sustain it.2

Defining Operational Excellence

Operational Excellence is when each and every employee can see the flow of value to the customer, and fix that flow when it breaks down. It's that simple. What this means is that each employee knows that the product moves from process A to process B in a specific quantity, at a specific time, to a specific location; otherwise, something is wrong. Additionally, when something goes wrong (and it will), they know what to do to fix it, without seeing their supervisor, reporting to management, or having a meeting. This happens in the office as well, where employees can see the flow of a customer order through several business processes and fix that flow when it breaks down in the same manner. Think of it as orders flowing (from order entry through manufacturing to delivery) through a pipe. Someplace (in the office or on the manufacturing floor) the pipe gets clogged and the flow stops. The operators would know what to do to unclog the pipe and allow flow to resume without any management involvement. Employees create and maintain a lean flow, while management focuses on growing the business.2

Best Practice examples at ILMAC LAUSANNE 2017

Five OpEx experts from the chemical and pharmaceutical production will talk about their experiences in process development and how OpEx was implemented in their daily life and how it influences the workflow for operators, process managers and executives.

1 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operational_excellence

2 http://www.industryweek.com/companies-amp-executives/operational-excellence-defined

Morning Program

10.00 - 10.35
Syngenta CP Monthey SA Key Note Vortrag
«Excellence opérationnelle et gestion du changement»
M. Gérard Waridel, Operational Excellence Expert
10.35 - 10.55
ARLANXEO Switzerland S.A. «Integrated Business Planning (IBP) – A cross functional process to optimize performance across the end-to-end value chain in a business» M. Yasser Bin Sabir, Global IBP Director
10.55 - 11.15
Vifor Pharma «OE in a global pharma company» Mme Silvia Alvarez, OE Manager
11.15 - 11.35
Carbogen Amcis «Investigation & Reduction of “Human Errors” in API manufacturing» Carsten Wangnick, Head Quality Assurance
11.35 - 12:00
PerkinElmer «Enabling Operational Excellence for the Lab: The Role of Managed and Automated Services» M. Dr. rer. nat. Hellmuth Broda,
OneSource Enterprise Professional Services

Afternoon Program

Time Company Topic Speaker
13.20 - 14.00
MCH Beaulieu Lausanne SA

Conseiller d’Etat du Canton de Vaud
Inauguration officielle de ILMAC LAUSANNE Me Jean-Philippe Rochat, Président du Conseil d’administration
M. Philippe Leuba, Chef du Département de l’économie, de l’innovation et du sport
14.00 - 14.20
CRB Group Tendances technologiques pour le future – Procédés de purification en continu
M. Caneva, Process Engineer




14.20 - 14.40 Agilent Technologies Petit mais costaud – innovations téchnologiques et applications pour Ultivo QQQ
Mme Cecile Pinto, Account Manager




14.40 - 15.00 Skan Protection pour le travail de substances CMR avec les postes de sécurité et les isolateurs de laboratoire
M. Matthias Bittner, Business Development Manager Lab Services




15.00 - 15.20 Thermo Fisher Scientifc Les métabolites polaires - Un défi pour l’IC-MS? Mme Géraldine Larcher, Support Specialist, western part of Switzerland TEA/Chromatography Solution IC, LC and Sample Preparation




15.20 - 15.40 Vitaris Travailler en securité dans un flux lamminaire class II M. Xavier Calvo, Directeur de ventes Suisse




15.40 - 16.00 Swiss Integrative Center for Human Health Les nouveaux défis de la santé humaine: une approche intégrative Mme Dr. Marina Gonzalez Lazo, Materials Facility Specialist




16.00 - 16.20 Adsano Engineering Validation de stérilisations dans le secteur biotechnologique Mme Muriel Näf, Head of qualification / validation




16.20 - 16.40 Agilent Technologies Les derniers développements en LC-2D - comment les nouvelles technologies améliorent les séparations complexes en LC Mme Cecile Pinto, Account Manager
/-/media/ilmac/Lausanne/Images/Banner/live/desktop/Halfsize_banner_desktop.jpg?mh=4092&mw=4092
/-/media/ilmac/Lausanne/Images/Banner/live/mobile/Halfsize_banner_mobile.jpg?mh=4092&mw=4092

ILMAC

Mittwoch, 4. Oktober 2017

«Operational Excellence – Best Practice für Unternehmen aus der Chemie- und Life-Sciences-Branche»

Operational Excellence (OpEx) ist ein Bestandteil der Organisationsführung und -kompetenz. Sie zielt darauf ab, Kundenerwartungen gerecht zu werden, und legt den Schwerpunkt dabei gleichzeitig auf die Anwendung verschiedener Prinzipien, Systeme und Tools, die wesentliche Leistungskennzahlen nachhaltig verbessern sollen. Operational Excellence basiert auf datengesteuerten Kennzahlen, die entweder aus Algorithmen, maschinellem Lernen oder künstlicher Intelligenz hergeleitet werden.1 So simpel dies klingen mag, so unklar ist die Umsetzung von OE in unserem täglichen Leben. Wird man befragt, worum es sich konkret handelt, so fällt die Antwort meist zögerlich aus. Häufig hört man Antworten wie „Es hat etwas mit Prozessqualität zu tun (Herstellung von stets perfekten Teilen)“, oder „Es bedeutet, überall schlanke Tools einzusetzen, um Verschwendung entgegenzuwirken“. Das Konzept lässt sich nicht leicht beziffern und Mitarbeitenden in der Produktion nur schwer mit einfachen Begriffen aus der Praxis erklären, damit sie auch wissen, wie sie Operational Excellence herbeiführen und aufrechterhalten.2

Begriffserklärung Operational Excellence

Operational Excellence ist gegeben, wenn jeder einzelne Mitarbeitende den für den Kunden entstehenden Wert sehen und diesen Wert in Störungsfällen wiederherstellen kann. So einfach ist das. Das bedeutet, dass jeder Mitarbeitende weiss, dass sich das Produkt in einer spezifischen Anzahl, zu einer bestimmten Zeit und an einem bestimmten Ort von Prozess A zu Prozess B bewegt; ist dies nicht der Fall, liegt eine Störung vor. Ausserdem weiss das Personal, wie es Störungen beheben kann, falls diese auftreten (und das werden sie), ohne sich dabei an Vorgesetzte wenden, die Geschäftsleitung informieren oder Meetings abhalten zu müssen. Dies gilt auch für Büros, wo Mitarbeitende den Auftragsablauf eines Kunden anhand mehrerer Geschäftsprozesse einsehen und ebenfalls „reparieren“ können, falls er gestört wird. Stellen Sie sich vor, Aufträge würden durch ein Rohr fliessen – angefangen beim Auftragseingang über den Herstellungsprozess bis hin zur Lieferung. An irgendeiner Stelle (im Büro oder in der Produktion) verstopft das Rohr, und der Fluss gerät ins Stocken. Das zuständige Personal weiss nun ohne Einbindung der Geschäftsleitung, was zu tun ist, um die Verstopfung zu beheben, sodass ein Weiterfliessen möglich ist. Das Personal schafft also einen reibungslosen Durchfluss und sorgt für einen störungsfreien Gesamtablauf, während die Geschäftsleitung sich auf das Unternehmenswachstum konzentrieren kann.2

Beispiele für Best Practice bei der ILMAC LAUSANNE 2017

Fünf OpEx-Experten aus der chemischen und pharmazeutischen Produktion werden über ihre Erfahrungen in der Prozessentwicklung sprechen und erklären, wie OpEx in ihrem Alltag umgesetzt wurde und wie OpEx den Workflow für Bedienpersonal, Prozessmanager und Führungskräfte beeinflusst.

1 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operational_excellence

2 http://www.industryweek.com/companies-amp-executives/operational-excellence-defined

/-/media/ilmac/Lausanne/Images/Banner/live/desktop/Halfsize_banner_desktop.jpg?mh=4092&mw=4092
/-/media/ilmac/Lausanne/Images/Banner/live/mobile/Halfsize_banner_mobile.jpg?mh=4092&mw=4092