Swiss Armed Forces Culinary Team / Cooks' Training Corps

In both the laboratory and the kitchen, physical and chemical changes take place that have a major impact on the ingredients and their aggregate state.

The topic of "Science and innovation in the kitchen" is gaining importance for both cooks and catering officials in the Swiss Army. Cooking, baking and other cooking processes call for a certain amount of knowledge of chemical and physical processes.

Armed forces have frequently been pioneers in the development and use of new technologies. In the catering field too, a number of fundamental achievements and inventions can be attributed to armies. Trade fair visitors will have the history of catering for troops explained and demonstrated to them in a simple manner, showing how things were earlier, how they are today and what will be happening in future:

  • The tin can: an invention from times when wars were being waged which is staging a come-back now. Food tastings: knuckle of veal, mashed potatoes, gremolata
  • Low-temperature cooking: how things have developed from peasants' stews, via the army's cooking box right through to the current method of cooking sous vide. Food tastings: fillet of salmon trout with fennel, potatoes and citrus fruit
  • Use of gases in the kitchen: production of ice cream with liquid nitrogen. Food tastings: pine-shoot ice

Experience the Cooks Training Corps live, as they work, and try their delicious tasting portions.

ILMAC

Equipe nationale des cuisiniers militaires suisses / Commandement stages de formation des chefs de cuisine

Des changements physiques et chimiques se produisent en laboratoire comme en cuisine. Ces changements ont des conséquences importantes sur les composants et leurs états de matière.

Le thème «Science et innovation en cuisine» est de plus en plus important pour un cuisinier comme pour des fonctionnaires de la restauration de l'armée suisse. Cuisiner, pâtisser ou autres processus de cuisson nécessitent une certaine connaissance des processus chimiques et physiques.

Les forces armées ont souvent fait figure de précurseur dans le développement et l’application de nouvelles technologies. Dans le domaine de l’alimentation aussi, certaines réalisations et inventions fondamentales sont dues à l’armée. L’histoire de l’alimentation dans le domaine de la subsistance de la troupe autrefois, aujourd’hui et dans le futur sera présentée, expliquée et démontrée aux visiteurs du salon:

  • La boîte de conserve: une invention datant de la guerre qui connaît aujourd’hui une renaissance. Dégustation: jarret de veau, purée de pommes de terre, gremolata
  • La cuisson à basse température: comment on est passé des ragoûts rustiques à la cuisson sous vide actuelle en passant par les gamelles de l’armée. Dégustation: filet de truite saumonée accompagné de fenouil, pommes de terre et agrumes
  • L’utilisation des gaz dans la cuisine: fabrication de glaces avec de l’azote liquide. Dégustation: glace aux bourgeons de sapin

Vivez en direct la démonstration du Commandement stages de formation des chefs de cuisine et savourez les délicieuses portions proposées à la dégustation.